Interview with Kristin Rockaway, Author of The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World

So excited today today to be talking with Kristin Rockaway about her new novel!

Please describe what the story is about.

The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World is about a twenty-something New Yorker with a severe case of wanderlust who questions her prestigious career and perfectly ordered life after meeting a free-spirited American artist in Hong Kong.

Share a teaser sentence or two from your novel.

“I firmly believe the travel bug isn’t something you catch, but something you’re born with. An inherent trait encoded in your genes, like the color of your eyes or your dominant hand.”

What do you want people to know about your book?

If you’re looking for a quick bit of escapism, The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World is the perfect way to indulge your wanderlust without getting out of your chair. It’s an easy, fun read that should appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella or The Devil Wears Prada.

What did you learn about yourself while writing this novel?

I learned that I’m far more patient and persistent than I’d ever given myself credit for. Publishing is a tough business; to succeed, you have to keep going despite repeated rejections and interminable waits.

What was your timeline from drafting to publication?

I started drafting this story during NaNoWriMo in 2013, got an offer of publication in February 2015, and my release date is June 6th, 2017. So from draft to pub, it’s been almost four years!

What is your favorite part of writing (drafting characters, making up scenes, plotting, developing emotional turning points, etc). Why?

I love the revision process. After I’ve defined the big picture of the story, it’s fun to get back in there to fine-tune it and make it stronger.

Briefly, where did the idea for your book come from?

Travel has always been one of my passions, and writing this story was a way for me to capture the excitement and wonder of exploring the globe. One day, I was flipping through some photos of a trip I took to Hong Kong, and I thought it would be the perfect setting for a whirlwind romance – a bustling city full of flavor and spirit.

When do you do your best thinking about your work in progress?

The best ideas inevitably come to me when I’m in the shower, driving my car, or drifting off to sleep. I keep my phone close at hand so I can record them before they float away.

Share something people may be surprised to know about you?

I have a degree in Computer Science and spent fifteen years working as a software developer and IT manager before making the switch to writing fiction.

What’s the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever gotten?

Use the advice that works for you and ignore the rest. It’s good to learn as much as possible, to attend workshops and read books to help you find new ways of approaching your craft. But there’s no one-size-fits-all piece of advice, and not everything is going feel right to you – and if it doesn’t, it’s okay to ignore it.

What’s next?

I’m torn between a couple of different ideas right now, but they’re both fun, female-focused stories with a chick lit vibe and a healthy dose of romance.

THE WILD WOMAN’S GUIDE TO TRAVELING THE WORLD

Fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Devil Wears Prada will love this smart, sexy debut novel of wanderlust.

Objectively, Sophie is a success: she’s got a coveted job at a top consulting firm, a Manhattan apartment, and a passport full of stamps. It isn’t quite what she dreamed of when she was a teenager dog-earing pages in exotic travel guides, but it’s secure. Then her best friend bails just hours after they arrive in Hong Kong for a girls’ trip, and Sophie meets Carson, a free-spirited, globetrotting American artist.

In the midst of their whirlwind vacation romance, Carson invites Sophie to join him on his haphazard journey around the world. While the brief international jaunts she sneaks in between business trips don’t feel like enough, Sophie is far too practical to throw away her five-year plan on a whim. Yet Carson’s offer forces her to question whether the reliable life she’s chosen is really what she wants–and she soon discovers that his feelings for her run deeper than she realized.

Available June 6, 2017 from Center Street Books

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Target | Kobo | Indigo